Reading Assignment #5

Text to Self

Caitlin the main character in my book is in a relationship where her boyfriend is preventing her from being with her friends and family. Whatever free time she has she is spending it with her boyfriend (Rogerson) her grades are slipping and her best friend Rina is mad that Caitlin is blowing her off for Rogerson. What Caitlins freinds and family dont know is that Caitlin is afraid of Rogerson because he is physically abusing her when she upsets him. I was in a similar situation with a previous relationship I had, I wasnt allowed to spend time with my friends without him being there; if I asked to hangout with my friends he’d get mad and it would always end up in a fight so I just didn’t hangout with friends without him. I was always with him when I wasnt at work so my grades slipped from my lack of studying, I had no freedom with my life. Unlike Caitlin my relationship didnt involve physical abuse but our situation otherwise was similar. 

Text to World 

Abusive relationships unfortunately are very common, at least once a week I hear about a women being abused by her significant other. Like Caitlin the main character of my book women are afraid to tell anyone about their boyfriends/ husbands abusing them. Caitlin was afraid to say anything about her boyfreind Rogerson abusing her because she doesn’t want to loose him; she’s in love with him. Apart of Caitlin thinks that Rogerson will stop but he didn’t and eventually Caitlins parents caught him hitting her which ended in Caitlin being taken to a rehab clinic. Today you hear of women being killed by their boyfriends/ husbands because the abusing gets to far. Caitlin fortunately got the help she needed with her parents seeing Rogerson hit her and taking her to a hospital were she can recover and realize that Rogerson is dangerous before it went further. 

Leave a comment